Laboratory Animal Sciences Program
LASP logo   NCI-Frederick
  
spacer
  clear pixel clear pixel

Animal Ordering & Importing

Before ordering animals or beginning animal studies, the NCI Animal Care and Use Committee must approve an Animal Study Proposal. All personnel handling animals and the principal investigator must be enrolled in the Animal Exposure Surveillance Program, participate in the OACU training course: Using Animals in Intramural Research, and attend a facility orientation session.

Rodents are generally ordered from approved vendors (APA, The Jackson Laboratory, Taconic, Charles River Laboratories, Harlan) eitherthrough the NCI operated facility’s Facility Manager or the Division of Veterinary Resources (DVR) centralized animal procurement service (CAPS). If rodents or rodent products are obtained from a source other than the "approved sources" an Application for Permit to Introduce Rodents and Rodent Products must be submitted.

General Information

right arrow

Ordering To NCI Operated Facilities

right arrow

Ordering To DVR Operated and Contract Facilities

right arrow

Importing Rodents from Non-Approved Sources

Electronic Forms

right arrow

Application for Permit to Introduce Rodents and Rodent Products

right arrow

NIH Centralized Animal Order Form

Contact Information

Jeremy Smedley, D.V.M., Ph.D.

Animal Program Director

Phone: 301-496-1866

Fax: 301-402-1276

Email: smedleyj@mail.nih.gov

Jeanne Yimdjo

Import Coordinator

Phone: 301-496-1535

Fax: 301-496-1295

Email: yimdjoj@mail.nih.gov

Larry Cook, B.S., M.B.A., LATG

SAIC Manager of Operations,

Phone: 301-496-1535

Fax: 301-496-1295

Email: cokkla@mail.nih.gov

Andrew Okoth

Facility Manager, 10 CRC

Phone: 301-496-1535

Fax: 301-496-1295

Email: okotha@mail.nih.gov

Tarra Dumas, LAT

Facility Manager, 10-ACRF

Phone: 301-402-1708

Fax: 301-402-1776

Email: dumast@mail.nih.gov

Mercy Gathuka

Facility Manager, 14D-South

Phone: 301-496-5246

Fax: 301-402-1792

Email: gathukam@mail.nih.gov

George Dunn, LAT

Facility Manager, 41

Phone: 301-496-7100

Fax: 301-496-7120

Email: gdunn@mail.nih.gov

 

  National Cancer Institute (NCI)      National Institutes of Health (NIH)      Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)      FirstGov.gov