DYNASTIES Summer Video Series

Blue Planet Image

The Scientific Library is pleased to announce the 2019 Summer Video Series. This year we will show the 5-part series from the BBC titled DYNASTIES. Sir David Attenborough narrates this nature documentary series that follows the true stories of five of the world's most celebrated, yet endangered animals; penguins, chimpanzees, lions, painted wolves and tigers. Each in a heroic struggle against rivals and against the forces of nature, these families fight for their own survival and for the future of their dynasties.

Visit the DYNASTIES homepage: at the BBC Earth website.

The series consists of 5 episodes, each 60 minutes in length. Each episode will be shown 4 times each week, 2 times at the ATRF and 2 times in Building 549, to accommodate various work locations and lunch schedules. The program will begin on Monday, July 1, and will conclude on Friday, August 2.

The DYNASTIES program will be shown on the main NCI-F campus on Mondays and Tuesdays, beginning at 12:00 p.m. in the Scientific Library’s Technology Training Lab in Building 549.

The DYNASTIES program will be shown at the ATRF on Thursdays and Fridays, beginning at 12:00 p.m. in ATRF Conference Room E1108.

You may bring your lunch to the program. This DVD series is part of the Scientific Library’s circulating collection and may be borrowed after the entire series ends in August.

Please check the schedule below for information on each episode. Be sure to view your desired location.

Episode 1: Chimpanzee Scientific Library’s Technology Training Lab, Building 549: Monday, July 1, & Tuesday, July 2, 2019; beginning at 12:00 p.m. ATRF Conference Room E1108: Wednesday, July 3 (due to holiday on July 4), & Friday, July 5, 2019; beginning at 12:00 p.m. Episode Summary: David, a chimpanzee in Senegal, tries to overcome threats to his leadership and ensure an heir.

Episode 2: Emperor Scientific Library’s Technology Training Lab, Building 549: Monday, July 8, & Tuesday, July 9, 2019; beginning at 12:00 p.m. ATRF Conference Room E1108: Thursday, July 11, & Friday, July 12, 2019; beginning at 12:00 p.m. Episode Summary: A colony of emperor penguins try to keep themselves and their chicks alive through the winter.

Episode 3: Lion Scientific Library’s Technology Training Lab, Building 549: Monday, July 15, & Tuesday, July 16, 2019; beginning at 12:00 p.m. ATRF Conference Room E1108: Thursday, July 18, & Friday, July 19, 2019; beginning at 12:00 p.m. Episode Summary: Episode Summary: The lioness leader of a once mighty pride must now battle for their very survival.

Episode 4: Painted Wolf Scientific Library’s Technology Training Lab, Building 549: Monday, July 22, & Tuesday, July 23, 2019; beginning at 12:00 p.m. ATRF Conference Room E1108: Thursday, July 25, & Friday, July 26, 2019; beginning at 12:00 p.m. Episode Summary: A painted wolf matriarch's feud with her daughter threatens to bring the dynasty down.

Episode 5: Tiger Scientific Library’s Technology Training Lab, Building 549: Monday, July 29, & Tuesday, July 30, 2019; beginning at 12:00 p.m. ATRF Conference Room E1108: Thursday, August 1, & Friday, August 2; beginning at 12:00 p.m. Episode Summary: A tigress must protect her cubs while battling rivals who want to steal her lands and overthrow her.